top of page

Why I am not the biggest fan of Middle Names?

Maybe it’s because 2 is my lucky number and I just happen to prefer it to 3. Or maybe I’m too self-obsessed and like the sound of my own name way too much to have someone else’s wedged in. That’s partially true, I do like how my name sounds-Nikita Asnani; it sounds like my own- special and unique. This is not to say that I am not proud to be my father’s daughter; in fact, I am truly my father’s daughter in more ways than one (no, its not the unibrow-that comes from my Mom’s side okay!) and I beam with infinite pride and joy for that.


But to say that today I am Nikita Haresh Asnani and tomorrow will be Nikita Timothée Chalamet Asnani (yes, that's a mouthful but a girl can dream and NO, you CANNOT roast me in the comments section). But to think that my name, one of the most directly reconcilable pillars of my identity, can be swished over from my father’s name to my husband’s as though it were never my own to begin with, is a tad bit unappealing, don’t you think?!


What is about our society that allows men to think, feel and believe that they have a sense of ownership over women-be it their names, identity, bodies, accomplishments and finances? Well, the way we name our daughters to start off with.





46 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page