top of page

What Cartoons taught me about Mental Health

Updated: Feb 21, 2022

1. Oswald taught me that even a daisy can be sad at times. How can I ever heal if I refuse to accept what I’m feeling? I vividly remember being on the U2 going to University on a Tuesday morning in my second year. I was trying so hard to convince myself to feel a certain way, reasserting to myself that I’m fine, and that I’m strong and that there’s nothing to worry, complain or be sad about. In the brief respite I got as the bus completed the turn (how a bus so wide never goes over the footpath as it makes a turn is still a mystery to me) around to the Interchange, a little voice inside of me spoke- for the first time in a very long time- it said, ‘it’s okay to not be okay’.




2. Bob the Builder taught me that I need to accept people the way they are. Not everyone and everything needs ‘fixing’. Also, we all find our crew at the right time and place.

Teletubbies taught me that I am a unique and celebrated individual. My worth comes not from doing something or being a certain way, I am worthy simply because I exist. I sparkle with vitality, and am perfect exactly as I am.




3. Harry and His Bucket Full of Dinosaurs taught me that a) if dinosaurs (weighing thousands of kilograms) can fly, so can I! No matter how heavy my baggage, I can learn to let it go and fly; b) We all have a bucketful to be a grateful for and c) Behind every happy Harry lies A chain of dinosaurs who made it possible for him




4. Scooby Dooby Doo taught me everything worthwhile, such as the legendary Super Shaggy Sandwich, is built layer by layer, step by step.




5. Noddy taught me what friendship, community and family feels like. It does take a village to raise a child, and in this precise case, TOYLAND is what we call it!




6. Mickey Mouse Club House inspired me to dream (while also giving me a lot of interior designing inspo on my DREAM HOUSE- I mean am I being crazy or did the show literaly coin ‘3D Printing’ before the term even existed?!!).




7. Caillou taught me that there is wonder and delight in the simplest of things, from the way my frills intricately flow in my dress to the feeling of going ‘chham, chham’ in the city center’s fountains and ‘splash, splash’ sound as I carefully line up my baby toy ducks on their mother’s back in the bath, hoping they would topple over just so I could do it all over again.




8. Talking Tom and Friends brought out the Material Girl in me, reminding me that life is full of adventures and it is high time I plan a rejuvenating trip to Paris with my friends.




13 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page